Caramel & White Chocolate ~ Chickpea Blondies


Yep I was at it again.

After the pool party last Saturday, and bringing my Dulce de Leche Black Bean Brownies, I felt bad for one of my dear friends who is allergic to chocolate. She obviously couldn’t eat these delectable treats, but I told her that I would be trying my hand at some that she could eat.

She asked what I would be using in place of the black beans, because well, even black beans sounded odd in a dessert.

Why, Chickpeas of course! I figured that I should be able to pull it off. Why not? Chickpeas make humus and that is thick and creamy, so transferring them to a blondie, could um work, right?

I was going to find out.

I adjusted the recipe for the Black Bean brownies just a little.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can 15 oz low sodium chickpeas (I used Goya)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon oil
  • 1  tablespoon Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 ~13.4 oz can of Nestle La Lechera Dulce de Leche Caramel

Preheat oven to 350° F and grease a 8×8 square baking pan with baking spray. Line with parchment paper, leaving about 3 inches exposed on all sides.

Using a blender, or food processor if you have one,  add chickpeas, egg, sugar, cocoa, yogurt, vanilla, oil, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Blend until smooth and creamy.

image

Transfer batter into a bowl, and fold in half of the white chocolate chips until combined.

Pour batter into baking pan and spread evenly. Using a teaspoon, dollop as much as you’d like of the caramel on top of the blondie batter. Finish it off with the remaining white chocolate chips.

image

 

Bake the blondies about 30-35 minutes, or until a knife inserted into batter comes out clean. You will notice a little gooeyness from the white chocolate chips, but it should still be fairly dry.

image

Allow the blondies to cool completely on the counter in their baking pan before removing them out of the pan, along with the parchment paper, to cut into bite sized squares.

Here’s a little oopsie on my part. Well, Davids lol. I had baked these beautiful blondies, and had them cooling on the counter for about an hour. David knew that they would eventually be placed in the fridge to cool for a few hours, and decided to help me out. He graciously covered them with foil, and placed them in the refrigerator. I didn’t think anything of it and just saw it as being thoughtful. Until the next morning, when I uncovered them and saw the moisture. I went to cut them into squares, and their texture changed slightly. They were more moist than the night before, because of the condensation that developed overnight in the fridge. No harm, no foul. I sent them off to my lovely friend, and to some of the Baristas at the local coffee shop. To my surprise, because I’m always harder on myself for shortcomings, the blondies were a hit! Yes they were more moist than one would like, but the flavor was still there.

So heed my warning, cool them off completely on the counter before transferring them to the fridge. 

image

The result will be absolutely delectable, I mean look at that caramel and white chocolate! And no one tasted chickpeas, or even remotely thought of humus while eating them. Success I say!

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

