Dulce de Leche ~Black Bean Brownie Bites


Boy is that a mouthful! And a deliciously chewy, fudgey, mouthful at that.

image

 

These brownies might be bite sized and Gluten Free, but it’s far from small on flavor and as for the Black Beans, you can’t even tell they’re in there. Even the most discerning of pallets won’t notice a difference in texture or flavor in these brownie bites.

How do I know?

I set up some of my closest friends and a group of strangers at a pool party Saturday afternoon, and nonchalantly placed a tray of them among the other items on the desert bar. Β Let’s just the treats remaining after everyone had their fill of decadent sweets didn’t include any of my brownie bites.

That’s right. They were all gone!

All except for 3 little bites, because the lovely lady who tried them isn’t a brownie fan to begin with and finds brownies too sweet for her liking. However she did try one as a great sport, and although she said she wasn’t fond of it, it was based on the sweet factor. She didn’t notice anything off texture or flavor wise, and when I finally revealed that these brownies had a secret ingredient everyone was floored to find out it was black beans.

My friends are aware if I’m baking or cooking and they see me eating the dish I’ve brought, it’s 100% gluten free. So that comes along with the territory. But this was a gathering of close friends and some new, so not everyone had my background info. Black beans in a dessert? That they surely weren’t expecting from me.

But the compliments, and asking if there were more left made my day. These brownies were among donuts, real chocolate brownies, cannoli cake, munchkins, cupcakes and a slew of other treats. Yet these were devoured.

So enough talking about how great they are, get to baking my friends.

By the way, while mixing the batter, which is seriously so simple, Dave had to lick the spoon. Don’t worry I used another one to finish up πŸ˜‰ and although he knew there were black beans in it, he didn’t even taste them. And trust me, if he didn’t like it he would tell me. This was also before the chocolate chips and caramel got into the mix. I think it’s safe to say, these brownie bites will leave everyone thinking they’re just good old-fashioned “real brownies”.

Ingredients

  • 1 can 15 oz low sodium black beans (I used Goya)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon oil
  • 1 Β 1/2 tablespoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon white balsamic vinegar (I used Trader Joe’s White Modena Vinegar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, divided
  • 1~13.4 oz can of Nestle La Lechera Dulce de Leche Caramel

Preheat oven to 350Β° F and grease a 8×8 square baking pan with baking spray. Line with parchment paper, leaving about 3 inches exposed on all sides.

I don’t have a food processor, which would probably make this even easier than it was using a blender, but this is still so simple to do that you’ll be making them quite often.

Add black beans, eggs, sugar, cocoa, milk, vinegar, vanilla, oil, baking soda, and baking powder in the blender until smooth.

Transfer the batter into a bowl and mix in 1/2 of the chocolate chips until combined.

Pour batter into baking pan. Using a teaspoon, dollop as much as you’d like of the caramel on top of the brownie batter.

image

Next, sprinkle remaining chocolate chips on top.

image

You can swirl the caramel throughout the batter if you’d like or leave it as dollops on top. Totally up to you

image

To swirl or not to swirl, that is the question, and I couldn’t decide so I did a little bit of both.

Bake the brownies about 30-35 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean. You will notice a little gooeyness from the chocolate chips but it should be fairly dry knife.

image

 

Allow the brownies to cool completely before removing them along with the parchment paper out of the pan to cut into bite size squares.

I left them on the counter to cool for a few hours, and then transferred the whole pan into the refrigerator to cool overnight, cutting them in the morning.

 

 

You could cut them into any size you’d like, I just prefered the smaller bite sized ones, because of the caramel and chocolate chips making them that much more decadent.

image

I ended up with 28 bite size squares, yes you only see 24 in that tray above because what kind of baker would I be if I didn’t try out the confection before bringing them to the party? πŸ˜‰

image

These little bite sized wonders really hit the spot. Admittedly I’m not a fan of the brownie either, but boy oh boy did these hit my sweet tooth in all the right places.

3 thoughts on “Dulce de Leche ~Black Bean Brownie Bites

  1. Pingback: Caramel & White Chocolate ~ Chickpea Blondies | Random Musings And Wanderlust

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

