I can’t believe I just did that!


Well it’s not so earth shattering but seriously speaking, I can’t believe I just did that!

Never in my 40(1) years have I ever done that. Well maybe that one time when I was 3 and I didn’t know any better. Or is it that now I’ve finally done what everyone else has done all these years?

It’s disgusting, or at least it’s always been disgusting in my eyes. I mean how could anyone do that. It’s just gross. It’s dirty, and it really can’t be good for you. Or can it?

I have no clue, but at 8:40 am this morning, as I sat at the kitchen table with my cup of tea, looking out the big picture window out Dave’s back yard. I did it. And he saw me too. Oh the horror, the shame, the just ewewwwwness of it all.

I can’t believe I just did that!

My bagel fell to the floor, face down, cream cheese on the tile floor.

I looked at Dave, then quickly to the floor where I just KNEW it was laying helpless, face down on those tiles. The tiles I haven’t mopped in a few weeks, but at least have swept daily. Those tiles the cats walk all over daily, the kids walk all over when they are here, and we walk all over all day every day. Yep my cream cheese covered piece of bagel just lay there on the floor.

Ahhhh Hell no, I’m not wasting it. I’m not throwing it away. Not when I just spent $7.58 on a 4 ~FOUR~ pack of mini (half the size of a Real bagel) gluten free bagels. Of which there were only 2 remaining after today’s debacle. No way was I not going to finish eating it. Plus I was starving.

There was little time to make anything else, hence the whole reason I dropped the piece in the first place. Dave needed to get to work, and with construction on the nearby major roadway, he needed to be out of the house no later than, you guessed it…8:45 am. I had a mere 5 minutes remaining, not nearly enough time to make another bagel. You’re probably wondering why that’s not enough time. First you have to defrost the bagel. Package says 30 seconds, but it takes a full 1 minute to defrost it. Then it has to cool off enough to handle it so you can slice it. Once it’s sliced, you place it in the toaster to toast up a little. That takes at least another 2 minutes to get the texture and color I like on my bagel. Leaving 2 minutes if that to cream cheese it up and eat away. Not nearly enough time, as I like to enjoy my food not scarf it down in record time.

So I did what I thought I’d never do. I quickly bent down, scooped up the bagel piece, placed it on my plate and gave it a once over. Not seeing anything particular, although it was an everything bagel so I might have missed something, I decided the best thing to do was to just wipe of the cream cheese and add some more.

Dave looked at me, with this crooked little smile on his face and mumbled a low giggle. I just looked back at him and popped that piece of bagel in my mouth and took a bite. His smile grew and I then did what any awesome girlfriend does….

I shared my 5 second rule cream cheese bagel piece with him, and he enjoyed every bite!!

He did manage to ask me what happened. But was more interested in why or how I even decided to eat it after it had fallen to the floor. I am such a germaphobe. Or at least I’m always cleaning my hands and wiping the counters, not so much sterilizing things per say I don’t go overboard but he laughs at me.

imageExplaining to him, that first I don’t like wasting food, like the horrible Hawaiian Chicken with Catalina Dressing we tried to make last night that looked like hot pink Pepto Bismol. Secondly, after spending that much money on 4 freaking bagels I was NOT going to let it go to waste. And last but not least, I was freaking STARVING this morning. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been doing my walking more lately and getting my ass out there, but I was hungry and didn’t have time to make another one, and I didn’t want anything else either.

I still can’t believe I did that. But I ate it, and loved every bit of it. 😉

image

 

 

10 thoughts on “I can’t believe I just did that!

  1. LOL!! I’ve eaten many “5 second floor items” but cream cheese face down is a tough one. However, I believe your explanation is solid and justifies your need to save the bagel from the feeling of being wasted!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Having two dogs and a cat, if I didn’t have something in my food it would be a miracle! When the kids were small I used to tell people they could eat off my floors…Could probably find anything they wanted there!! What’s a few germs? Besides that 5 second rule is always effective. LOL

    Like

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

