My Oh My ~One Bite Mini Cheesecakes


4th of July is fast approaching, and friends of mine (my chosen family if you will) have a HUUUUUUUUUGE (yes total emphasis needed on the size of this) party every year for the last 7 years and it is by far the best one ever.

Everyone brings a dish or two of food, either deserts or a main dish or whatever they like to contribute. A few years ago I brought, my version of The Pioneer Woman’s Strawberry Sparkle Cake. This wasn’t a gluten free version, as at the time I didn’t need to be gluten free. But it was ohhh so good. You can check out my post for that here.

In the mean time, this year I decided to do a trial run of One Bite Mini Cheesecakes. As a gluten free person, finding a proper crust base that not only tastes good, but holds up as a good structure took some time. Since I used the mini cupcake liners, and not your standard cupcake liner, I couldn’t just place a gluten free cookie in the bottom and top it with cheesecake filling. So it was time to get creative.

Preheat oven to 325° Bake for 20 min until center is almost set

 

This recipe will fill 2 ~ 24 cavity mini cupcake baking trays

For crust:

  • 1~ 6 oz box of Archway Gluten Free Cookie Thins (sugar cookie or chocolate chip)
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter

For filling:

  • 2~ 8 oz packages of Philadelphia Cream Cheese – softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 eggs

Using a grinder/food processor/ or a Ziplock Gallon size bag, crumble up the entire package of the Archway Cookies. I used a Ziplock bag because I was looking for less to clean up and it felt pretty good to beat the heck out of the cookies until they reached a fine crumble texture similar to graham cracker crumbs. Transfer crumbs to a heat proof bowl.

image

In a small pot, melt your butter and then add to the cookie crumb mixture.

image

Stir the butter and cookie crumbs until fully incorporated. Line your mini cupcake tray with cupcake liners and fill with cookie crumb base. To ensure a solid crust I used the cap of the Key Lime Juice bottle to push the crumbs into the liner base. It worked like a charm

image

In another bowl mix softened cream cheese, vanilla, and sugar until just blended.

image

Add the eggs and beat until smooth and glossy.

image

 

Now this is where you can get creative. If you like good old fashioned cheesecake then go ahead and fill your mini cupcakes up. But if you like flavors like I do, then lets have some fun. Reserve 1 cup worth of base cheesecake filling for each flavor you’d like to try. Today we did Key Lime Cheesecake , Marble Cheesecake, and Old Fashioned Cheesecake.

  • For Key Lime I used Nellie & Joe’s Key Lime Juice. Add 2 tbs to 1 cup of reserved cheesecake filling, mix well and fill cupcake liners.
  • For Marble I made a simple syrup of Equal parts Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, Sugar, and water. 2 Tbs of each. Bring water just to a boil and add cocoa & sugar mixture into pot, stirring until well blended.

 

image

For the Marble Cheesecakes, put a small dollop on top of the cheesecake base filling, and swirl with a toothpick.

Place cupcake tray in preheated oven and bake for 20 min until center is almost set. Remove from oven and transfer baking sheet to a cooling rack for 20 min. Remove cupcakes from pan and place in refrigerator for 2-3 hours until cooled.

And above all else Enjoy.

image

I was baking yesterday while Dave was at work. He had no idea I was trying these out as a test run for the 4th of July party. When he came home he was definitely surprised and kept saying how awful they tasted. But by desert time, there were a mere 14 of these left! I only made one tray worth because this was a test run so he ate 8 of them since I only sampled the marble and the key lime

image

Key Lime Cheesecake

 

I admit the key lime is my favorite, but the look of the marble was impressive and let’s face it, the taste was the bombdiggity haha.

image

Am I right or what? Just look at these little bites of bliss.

 

I hope you enjoy these little bites of bliss as much as we did. I’ve got a few other versions in mind and will be posting them in the next few weeks hopefully.

As a side note. The base crust is gluten free, in this recipe because that’s how I cook, but depending on your needs you can easily use any other base you’d like. If you wanted graham crackers as a base the same instructions will work for them as well. Or use a larger size cupcake liner and place a whole cookie in the bottom, which might be on my next adventure to see how the difference in taste is. Whatever you choose, enjoy the fruits of your labor, or in this case the cheesecake of your labor 🙂

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Oh My ~One Bite Mini Cheesecakes

  1. Pingback: Monday Musings Of Baby Shower Proportions | Random Musings And Wanderlust

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

