Portobello, Roasted Red Pepper & Mozzarella stuffed Chicken Breasts


Yep it’s what’s for dinner. Well left overs for tonight, as I made this delectable dish last night.

image

I’m often getting tired of making the same grilled chicken breasts marinated in Italian dressing, for dinner. Let’s face it, after so many times we feel we will cluck like a chicken sooner or later.  So while at the food store last night, I decided to reinvent a dish I made a few months ago after getting a great deal on asparagus. The only problem was, I wasn’t spending $4.99 lb for asparagus, so I improvised.

Dave and I love mushrooms, especially the baby portobello ones. So I bought my ingredients and went to work.

Ingredients:

  •  1 lb of thin sliced skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 package of baby portobello mushrooms washed and sliced
  • 1/2 cup of diced roasted red peppers
  • 8 oz of sliced mozzarella cheese
  • salt
  • pepper

 

Preheat oven to 375° and set aside a 9 x 13 inch baking pan for use. Prep your mushrooms by washing, drying, and slicing into bite sized pieces. Place in a skillet over low heat and sprinkle with some salt and pepper to taste.

image

Remove mushrooms from skillet and place in a bowl. Mix in the roasted red peppers to the mushrooms and set aside. On a cutting board clean up your chicken cutlets removing any excess fat. Once chicken is trimmed up, lay pieces flat and pat dry with a paper towel. Layer cutlets with sliced mozzarella, then top with mushroom and roasted red pepper mixture.

Roll each chicken cutlet up, securing with toothpicks, and place in ungreased 9 x 13 inch baking dish. Top with remaining mozzarella cheese.

image

Bake for 30 min at 375° or until chicken is cooked to temperature and cheese is slightly browned.

image

Remember we didn’t grease the pan, nor add any juice, but look at the amount of juice that came out of these cutlets. I skimmed some of the fat (which was almost none to be honest) in a gravy seperater cup and reserved the juice on the side.

image

This was by far, the most tender, juicy and delicious chicken cutlets I’ve had in, well I don’t know how long. Surprisingly enough there are a few left over for tonight and we will be having it again.

Dinner is served, all because I took a few extra minutes in the produce aisle. I hope if you try this dish you enjoy it as much as we did, and please let me know how you liked it.

Enjoy !

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

