What is this Festivus you speak of?


Happy Festivus, the holiday for the rest of us~

festivus

What is this holiday you speak of?

Ok maybe I have lived under a rock for a long time. I’m not a Seinfeld fan, well maybe on re runs I’ve caught a few episodes, but I was never a fan during its first run.

Call me what you will, the show just never appealed to me at the time. So I never saw the episode, The Strike, where Festivus was celebrated.

233313fc41ee3a63_tumblr_mgdqksNdiZ1ro7sbfo1_400.gif.xxxlarge

Over the years, I’ve seen many posts on my Facebook feed about today being the day for “The airing of grievances”

My question is: Why wait for one day a year to air grievances? Why not tell people they piss you off or annoy you when they actually do it?

festivus2_350_411_70

And what about these feats of strength on “The Festivus Pole” What exactly are you trying to prove? That you can do a Batman on a dance pole?That’s pretty damn impressive, but I say do it on a random Tuesday in July.

Maybe I’m missing the Festivus point, if there is one. So enlighten me my dear readers.

Do you celebrate Festivus? How do you celebrate it? Do you wear special clothes? Make a special meal? And above all else, once you air your grievances, does it leave you feeling better having done so, and do those you complain about absolve you of your airings? I’m curious to see how others celebrate their holidays. So please enlighten me… 🙂

2 thoughts on “What is this Festivus you speak of?

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

