Time flies when you’re having fun!


Time flies when you’re having fun! I believe that is the old adage. It’s true, even when it’s not all fun and games. Life in general flies by faster than we can imagine some days. Because who would have thought that a mere six months ago, upon my return home from a visit with my Sissy, I would be here right now.

For a little history, read here andΒ here. πŸ™‚

Life the last few months have certainly been different. In great and not so great ways, but mainly all happy times. Life, as usual, can often be that way.

I’ve taken a break of sorts from the blog, not purposefully of course, but that’s what happens in life. Some of the things I would think to blog about I’d rather not, and so I’ve had second thoughts about them. Sometimes I like to let a little time pass before blogging about events, because I feel the timing isn’t right.

But today, I want to blog about my boyfriend, Dave. He often says he doesn’t mind if I blog about him, and there are times I really want to. Then I think about how much of my life I want to share. I respect privacy, and since people who know me read this blog, even people I would rather not read it, oh they most certainly do…Hi there, I see you peeking from behind your computer screen to see what it is I’m writing about. Just wait, the next post might just be about you. πŸ˜‰ and ohhh what a mess that will be…

I give great thought about what I want to post. Not that I have anything to hide, it’s quite the opposite really. My life is lived as it should be, no holds barred and never looking over my shoulder. Because contrary to some beliefs, I don’t have to. But I do have boundries, and although I may talk about a funny thing Dave’s boys’ might say or do, I won’t post it without permission.

So today I want to talk about the man, the myth, the legend. Haha, I just had to. He really is pretty legendary. He is a rare kind of man. He is strong, yet gentle, loving, caring, has a heart of gold, but don’t let that fool you. He is a Marine, although not currently serving, he will forever be one. Don’t let his caring ways let you believe you can walk all over him either. And if you try to, I won’t let you. He has my back, as I have his. He knows this, and so do I. We have, what I feel, is quite rare. We discuss things. We ask each others opinions, no matter what the situation is. As it should be. We don’t see eye to eye on everything and that’s fantastic! Even though we don’t always agree, we certainly can respect the others point of view. And that’s what our relationship is based on.

RESPECT. Mutual respect.

He accepts me as I am, sneezing louder than a trombone, itchy , watery eyes, although he would love if I didn’t sneeze as much. For my health of course and I’m sure his hearing would benefit haha. Β I accept him as he is as well, his sarcastic sense of humor, his clothes strewn across the bedroom floor, and the joking way he asks if I want a gluten filled cookie. It’s not all rainbows and unicorns but it’s pretty great, because through it all…we keep each other laughing.

LAUGHTER. That’s the other thing that our relationship is based on.

I see I’ve gone off on a little tangent. Well, that’s me.

I woke up yesterdayΒ morning to a text message wishing me a Happy Anniversary. It’s been 6 months. Yes, I’ve turned into “that” girl. The one who is gushy and giddy. So what, who cares. I quite like it. He makes me happy. Not for what he does, but for who he is, and who we are together. I am more myself with him than I have been in a long time. He feels the same way. It is a beautiful thing to just be yourself and not have to be a certain way for someone else. Not that I’ve intentionally changed for someone else, but I’ve had people who wanted me to change, and often times you get caught up in the idea and you somehow you do.

If I hear “oh it’s the honeymoon phase and it will all change” I call BULLSHIT! It is more conclusive that a person will continue to do the things they do throughout a relationship than they will “Flip a switch” and change drastically. I’m sure as his clothes strewn the bedroom floor on the way to the laundry room, his demeanor will also remain the same as time goes on. πŸ™‚ Β He is great with his boys, I see the love he has for them, it runs deep and never ending. He cares about others and often puts their needs before his own. He tells it like it is, and he expects me to say whats on my mind, with no filter. I do just that.

These are just a glimpse of some of the things that make him the great guy he is. My guy!

So when I arrived at his house last night, bringing him some Hanukkah decorations, he tells me to turn around and close my eyes. I had no idea what was in store. He opened the back door and I hear some rustling noises.

“Ok turn around and open your eyes”

“No dear, I think I’ll open my eyes first, then turn around.” giggling while responding.

I turned around, opened my eyes and what do I see…but these beauties.

Deep red roses, pink and red gerbera daisies, mini purple roses and a mixture of other beautiful flowers. He outdid himself and it was a complete surprise. Not a surprise in the traditional sense, because he will buy me flowers for no particular reason. Like a random Sunday in July. But I was not expecting it. It brought tears to my eyes, happy tears. They are stunning and smell amazing. Which is kind of funny that I would say that. Considering the way I used to feel about roses, and flowers in general.Β 

“When did you have the time to get these? You had so much to do at work today?” I asked.

“Remember when I called you from the road, and told you I was making a delivery? Well I kinda was picking one up, these”

Ahhh honey, you did good, and I don’t mean the flowers. But then again, you always do with all your loving ways. I’m lucky, not just for today, but for all the days past, and all the ones to come…. ❀

 

 

4 thoughts on “Time flies when you’re having fun!

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

