A to Z Challenge. J is for JAMMIN’ with my Mama


If it wasn’t for my Mama I don’t know what J would be today. I tinkered with Jealousy, Justice, and a few others, but nothing was hitting me the right way.

Until a little Jaunt with my Mama. She’s an interesting character for sure. Always loved by my friends, they all for as long as I remember call her Mom.

She’s told me stories of her youth, when she would party in the Hamptons, or in the city. Usually with a follow up of ~ You know you should go out there and party it up. When I was your age, I was never home (well this was when I was in my 20’s and early 30’s lol) Although she still tells me to go out East and party! And I always knew she had a spicy little side to her.

Today was no Joke!

We went out for a ride to the farmers market, and then after a stop for a long overdue coffee, we did a little shopping. Jumping around from Joint to Joint, we were having fun, even if we were dealing with some Jackamuffins that didn’t know how to drive. Either a shopping cart or their cars.

As we finally were heading home, I turned on the radio.

Nothing but pop princesses and some country was coming in, since we were so far out east on the island. Then I remembered the Connecticut rock station usually comes in pretty clear out there. So on went WPLR 99.1.

And WHOA I forgot who was in the car with me!!!

I was humming along in my head but not saying anything, then I start to hear the whispers of

Oh yeah, oh yeah
Ah, ah, ah, ah……

A little air guitar and head banging to boot, was seen out of the corner of my eye!

Where was my Mom?!

My Mom was JAMMIN’ out to Led Zeppelin’s Black Dog.

That’s right. There she was, where she had been all along.

Sitting right next to me, window down, hair blowing, leaning into the stereo to CRANK up the tunes!!

Now this wasn’t a total shocker, she’s Jammed out with me before while we were taking a long drive, and she has been known to sing along to certain songs.

But this was a bit different.

Kinda like whoa, mom might be getting up there in years, although I think she’s a pretty feisty and spry 73 year old, she does have her day’s where it’s a little harder to move around and well that’s normal. But here was my mom just going with the flow, and enjoying the moment.

It was nice.

As we got closer to home, and it seemed to be a little warmer, I lowered the windows more and we were stuck at a traffic light. That’s when AC/DC’s TNT came on.

I looked at her

She looked at me

I laughed and poked her a few times. She smiled and laughed, and then when the chourous came on we were both belting out and JAMMIN’ along

‘cause I’m T.N.T. I’m dynamite
T.N.T. and I’ll win the fight
T.N.T. I’m a power load
T.N.T. watch me explode

She was giggling the whole time, and there were plenty of on lookers from the cars that were stuck at that longer than life traffic light. But you know what?

Who gives a flying patootie what they were looking at.

We were having a blast. We even got a few horns blown at us, I don’t think it was cause I wasn’t moving fast enough, because the one dude in a truck gave us the \ m / (Rock on or Horns) sign! I returned it and we laughed and finally went on our way.

So like I said, if it wasn’t for Mom, today’s post for J in the A to Z Challenge might have been lost completely or even done without a lot of effort behind it.

This to me, was a fitting way to give a little lightheartedness to the day, and pump you all up with some Jammin Jams for the rest of your night. 🙂

15 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge. J is for JAMMIN’ with my Mama

    • Awe I’m so glad this post made you smile! And that you would do something like this. I think it’s awesome. It’s so funny we listened to that in the car, then while we were home she had PBS on and Pavarotti was on and she was singing along to that as well. So Rock on she did lol 😉 Enjoy the rest of your day!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a fun mom you have!!
    I could picture the 2 of you jamming your way through the day.
    I plan to be just like your mom as I grow older. I’m already a 50+ gray headed girl that regularly forgets I’m not 25!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Girl, you are only as old as you feel. Some days I feel 40, some 60 but most…26 🙂 You should definitely plan to be like that, it keeps us all on our toes and we live happier lives that way. I think. My Mom is pretty special, she can be a pain like most but I love her to death. Don’t know what I’d do without her funny ways and serious side. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sadly I think my mom chose to be “old” way too soon. And I do think a lot of it is choice (just like happiness!) We can choose to sit and let age beat us up or we can stay active and remain healthy! (just my opinion!)

        Like

  2. Pingback: If we were having coffee… | Random Musings And Wanderlust

  3. Pingback: A to Z Challenge . Q is for Quirky Gal :-) | Random Musings And Wanderlust

  4. Pingback: A to Z Challenge, This Zaftig girl ROCKS! | Random Musings And Wanderlust

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

