A to Z Challenge. C is for Chakra


C is for Chakra: 

You’re probably asking yourself, what is a Chakra? The word Chakra translates to “wheel” acting as an exchange of energy. They reside within our subtle energy body (aura) and not within the physical body.  These energy wheels spin when they are open, activated and balanced. Depending how strong or weak each chakra is, we will notice changes in our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. When all is in alignment, the spiritual energy known as kundalini can rise up through the body.  
A chakra is an organizational center for the reception, and transmission of life energy. Each Chakra is represented by a specific color, sound vibration, and other correspondences. They each have specific crystals, herbs, and oils that resonate with each, to aid in healing and balancing. Here is a list of 7 Chakras (there are more, but we will touch base on the 7 main for this post)

1. Root Chakra Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

  • Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
  • Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

2. Sacral Chakra – Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
  • Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
  • Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra – Our ability to love.

  • Location: Center of chest just above heart.
  • Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.

5. Throat Chakra – Our ability to communicate.

  • Location: Throat.
  • Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

6. Third Eye Chakra – Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
  • Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

7. Crown Chakra – The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

  • Location: The very top of the head.
  • Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

So why Chakra’s? A few months ago I had the pleasure to attend a Chakra Balancing Workshop with a wonderful teacher. I was a little sceptical, but I am also the type of person that is open minded to things such as Yoga, Acupuncture, Kinnesiology, and other natural healing techniques. Why wouldn’t I check out something like Chakra Balancing?
*This is an excerpt from a testimonial I gave to our teacher. **

During the Heart Chakra balancing, the healing oils were passed around. One particularly being Rose. For almost my entire life, I disliked the smell of roses. Something about them reminded me of death. I could not explain why. As the oils were passed around I reluctantly smelled it, was repulsed, and passed it on to the next person. We then were proclaiming a particular affirmation out loud in the class: “Love is the answer to everything in life, and I give and receive love effortlessly and unconditionally to myself and others” That’s when it hit me. A fast flowing feeling of warmth within from head to toe, yet unbelievably cold on the outside. I also had, which is very hard to explain because I don’t want it to seem frightening because it wasn’t, but a tightness in my chest, like a bubble. I was not in pain, it was not hurting, it was just uncomfortable. Like when someone or something just gets you all twisted in a knot. We did some tapping, as well as affirmations, and I had this enormous release of energy, like I just exhaled from holding the longest breath I had ever held. Within a few minutes I felt like my old self, only better, much better. Someone had brought me a cup of water to drink and I was much more relaxed. Oh and that Rose Oil that I was so repulsed by, was lingering on my hand from holding the bottle not much earlier, and surprisingly enough the smell at that point, was beautiful. It no longer repulsed me. There was such a block within my Heart Chakra, and after this one session, it’s been opened up. 

 Obviously this isn’t the same for everyone, and my particular experience is unique to me. But I have to say since my session I’ve become more in tune with my body and feel more at ease with speaking my truth! Holding onto and bottling issues up is no longer part of who I am! 

16 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge. C is for Chakra

  1. Had I read this post five months ago, I might be asking myself what chakra is. My 18 year old went through his first major heartbreak over the Christmas holiday and a subsequent bout of depression I had never witnessed before. He didn’t slip in school or sports but at home he was an emotional roller-coaster and we couldn’t help despite our best efforts. He bought a book by don Miguel Ruiz which fueled further reading and he proceeded to “educate” me about chakra balance as he healed himself. Amazing things we can learn from kids. Great post!

    Like

    • Ahh young love, well any kind of love that turns into heartbreak is truly heartbreaking. I’m so glad that he was able to help himself with the chakra balancing, it really was eye opening for me, and that was after only one session. And that he included you and taught you about it is really wonderful as well. Kids really do know a lot more than we sometimes give them credit for too. Thank you for stopping by, and the comment. I now have a search for this book you mentioned. Always like reading more perspectives!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on starting your Chakra Journey! It gets better from here on out, much more amazing. When I went for my Reiki Initiation, my heart Chakra was blocked too. There was so much pent up energy around my chest and shoulders that when my teacher tapped that Chakra, I almost exploded out of my chair! Since then, my tendencies of jealousy and belittling myself are diminishing day by day. Am so appreciative about my life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly how I felt, like I was going to explode, but not in a painful way. Hard to explain to someone, because I think they assume pain. I also agree, the belittling of myself has decreased dramatically, I speak my truth more often instead of bottling it up as I always had, and I have much more self acceptance. It’s amazing and I can only hope to grow from here on out with it. Thank you for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Chakras to me isa very interesting topic, i love to read about them but havent had a chance to attend any workshop or learn it from a guru! thank you for your insights, i enjoyed reading! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Pingback: A to Z Challenge I~ is for Instinct and Intuition! | Random Musings And Wanderlust

    • I’m not quite sure if there is a way to do a search for practitioners that offer this, but for me, it was held in a healing arts center. They do hypnotherapy, accupuncture, chiropractic etc. So it’s part of their overall offerings. I would be a little concerned getting it done by someone not affiliated with a practice, only because I have heard stories of people having “balancing” done and it wasn’t as attentive as the experience I had. The instructor basically just spoke and didn’t actually do anything for the individuals. I do wish you luck in finding a place close to you that offers it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: A to Z Challenge . Q is for Quirky Gal :-) | Random Musings And Wanderlust

  6. Pingback: A to Z Challenge, This Zaftig girl ROCKS! | Random Musings And Wanderlust

  7. Pingback: Time flies when you’re having fun! | Random Musings And Wanderlust

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

