If we were having coffee…make it a double!


If we were having coffee, I’d tell you to meet me at the coffee shop. It’s quaint, quiet, and an escape from the house. A much-needed escape.

Let’s grab a seat by the window and chat for a while.

Long Island was hit with a crazy ass storm, not as severe as predicted, but nonetheless annoying. Pounded by a snowstorm, basically trapped inside the house for 2 days, except for a never-ending cycle of shoveling the white stuff.

I would post a picture of all of Juno’s glory, but quite honestly, I’ve grown tired of looking at it. But you can take a peek here.

IMG_3025I always say it’s beautiful to watch, from the comfort of my home, through the window, while I’m wearing my squishy socks.

That’s my idea of enjoying the snow. I don’t ski, never have, and most likely never will. I would be the girl at the ski lodge, curled up with a book in front of the fire, sipping hot cocoa or a tea. Yes, that’s me. Looking at the wonder of it all through the window.

There was a little brightness, and it wasn’t from the glare of the sun reflecting off the snow.

I had a date. Well two. With two different men.

One is promising and the other, well….That’s one of the things I’m struggling with. I’m struggling with the fact, that when I revived my blog, I had no intention of blogging about my dating life, or lack there of. I didn’t want it turned into Dating Adventures of Cutesexyshy.

Yes that’s me. Don’t ask, don’t laugh. When I created that name, it was just a whim, a what the fluck who cares kind of thing. Cause well, I’m cute, sexy, and yes I’m shy. Boy you’d be surprised what things some men will say just about that name. I didn’t want this blog to focus around that part of my life.

It has creeped in a few times. Since that’s happening, I think tis best I remove my blog link from my profile. I thought it would be a way for a really interested guy to see how my mind works. Yeah we all know they’re just interested in how our bodies work. I figured give them a glimpse into my psyche in a way. Now that I’m blogging about dating. That link goes bye-bye when I post this.

I guess, to an extent, we write what we live and know. Right now this is what I’m living and know.

IMG_3116I do believe it’s time for a refill…

The house has been feeling quite small over the last few weeks. Stepfather is down for the winter, as usual. And twinkle toes just had cataract surgery the day after Juno. It was an adventure in every sense of the word.

Between all the digging out, driving crazy unplowed roads, and the fact that he’s becoming more forgetful, it’s been a lot.

I’ve been down this road before, I helped my Mother take care of my Grandmother for as long as I could remember. She had dementia, and back then they had even less understanding of Alzheimer’s. Although now, I’m not sure how much progress has been made. His health, well he is almost 80, is pretty decent. But he suffers from COPD, uses oxygen at night to sleep, and now with this surgery for his eyes, we’ve been noticing he’s been forgetting. A lot. This was before the anesthesia.

I love them dearly, and wouldn’t know what I would do with out them, but a break is much-needed. My Mother has always told me, that if she got so bad as to the point she no longer knew who I was, that I am instructed to place her in a nursing home, kiss her goodbye and don’t look back. Even as I type those words, tears well up in my eyes and a lump so huge forms in my throat that I can’t swallow. How can you do that to your mother, your step father? But then there are days, days like a few weeks ago, where you understand why.

On a lighter note, the other day, my darling mother decided to remind me of the book she bought me before Christmas. Steve Harvey’s ” Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man” dating book. Yeah like I’m gonna read that, like I read “The Rules” all those years ago.

IMG_3241

Of course she had the book waiting for me when I came home from the not so promising date. I think my Mom is psychic, no I know she is. She’s got that Women’s Intuition, Mother’s Intuition, She’s got em all. Sometimes I really wish she could predict the ones that are gonna work out. Not the ones that wont. Crystal Ball anyone?

So you don’t think I’m monopolizing the conversation with dating stories, or depressing parental stories, I did dabble this week in some short story writing, and some poetry.

They both go along the lines of trying to tap into that inner self. I stuck them categories called “Romantic Short Story Ideas” and “The Wild Side” Trying to find that inner flirtatious side of myself. I know she’s in there, It’s just a matter of shaking her up and snapping her out of it. Again, life molds us and shapes us, and sometimes it shuts us up and closes us off.

My aim is to be present, awake, participating, and all that jazz. When I tap into that side, that creative side of myself, I like her, I like her a lot.

She’s got spunk! 😉

I hope that you’re enjoying your weekend coffee, and this conversation. I tend to ramble on quite a bit, and as you’ll see, it happens more often than not.

5 thoughts on “If we were having coffee…make it a double!

  1. I enjoyed our coffee, and your “ramblings” which are interesting to me. It’s fun to joing everyone for coffee because we get a glimpse of everyone else’s lives and routines; challenges and triumphs. See you next time!

    Like

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

