It wasn’t the end of the world, but it came close!


Well Winter Storm Juno, has left Long Island. It wasn’t the end of the world, but it came close!

So I say~ Sayônara, Au Revoir, Ciao, Arrivederci… I can’t say I’m sad to see Juno go, quite frankly I’m pleased she’s gone. Very pleased. Good Riddance to bad Juno!

The predictions for my area were about 30 inches. We got hit with about 20. In this case, eh hmm, well SIZE… REALLY does matter.

The beginning of Juno

The beginning of Juno

All night long the wind was howling, and the windows were rattling. To be honest, as much as I enjoy the wind and sound of pouring rain pelting the house, this was not soothing.

I’ve been having such vivid dreams lately, and the other night was no exception.

Well, except for the fact that I dreamt I was being chased by Living, Breathing…Snowmen. Yes you read that correctly. They were trying to take over the world and convert all the humans into Snowmen. I would assume Snow-women too, because they were chasing me and trying to convert me. But then again, who knows if those kind of men want female companionship, or even need it.

Ok losing my train of thought.

Well it is all a bit peculiar.

They had laser beams for eyes, a bright red glowing heart that looked like a Russell Stover big heart box of chocolates, and they were on a hoverboard, like Marty Mc Fly, from Back to the Future. Seriously where the hell my mind comes up with these dreams is beyond my imagination. If someone knows how to interpret it, let me know!! Needless to say the moment the were ready to change me into a Snow-woman, I was woken up by a loud bang on my front door.

Whew that was close. Imagine, how much I hate the cold, well hate is a strong word. And we have been extremely lucky so far this winter with the amount of snow we’ve had. Keeping my fingers crossed I don’t jinx it now that I’ve said we’ve been lucky. Imagine me as a Snow-woman, I don’t think so.

Although I’ve been told I make a cute one, since I already have my white coat and boots.

396895_10150547027674137_1467765346_n

The knock at the door saved me from my dream demise.

A guy that used to live in my neighborhood, but recently moved to the next town, knew I would need help shoveling with a storm like this. So, he walked, yes walked, about 6 miles in the 20 inches of snow to come help. Thank the Living, Breathing, Snowmen in my dream for him coming by.

I put up a pot of coffee, and he started to dig me out. I went out to help, hey I have to put my cute snow coat and boots to good use. When I saw the amount of snow barricading my car and my step fathers car in…hell the whole town was barricaded in, I was already exhausted and hadn’t even put shovel to pavement. Although two days later pavement is starting to peek through, but probably wont for a while.

Joe stayed to help for as long as he could, about a half hour, it was much appreciated. But the remaining task at hand as per usual, was to finish the dig myself. I don’t mind it so much. Except for when the plow truck operators dump their load on my driveway. Not just what falls off the plows as they head down the street, I’m expecting that, but a huge load just dumped right there. Hopefully by the next storm they will have some more sense not to do that.

Which brings me to the next storm coming down the pike. They are calling for more in the next few days. Just what I don’t want to hear. See what happened, I did jinx myself. Because while I was typing this baby up, I heard the news that not one but two more storms are on the way. Now granted we didn’t get as much as they predicted with this one, I’m not taking any chances with more storms. Again, remember what I said earlier~SIZE…REALLY does matter (well in certain cases 😉 )

10402018_10153054619549137_2114542968512460408_n

Late night snow selfie 🙂

After I don’t know how many times I went out to shovel during the course of the storm, last night and this morning yielded some nice pictures. And it wasn’t all depressing, I did have some fun in the snow, a measly few min late last night before turning in the shovel and gloves for a hot cup of chai tea latte from my favorite organic coffee shop. No not that chain one you all know and love. This one is special.

This morning, I went out and did it all again, but while I was out there I saw such beautiful views.

It reminds me of this lovely quote…

 In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.  Albert Camus

Obviously, Summer isn’t that close on the horizon, but it’s within reach. And through it all, the snow, shoveling, complaining, aching, tired, soreness…and more snow approaching, it could be worse. I could be really snowed in like that time in 1993 at our house upstate. Oh that was a bad, bad winter for many reasons.

How are you faring this winter? Did you get hit by the wrath of Juno? Or are you enjoying the winter season in an otherwise warmer climate? Wherever you are, whatever you do, I hope you enjoy your winter as much as you can. And if all else fails, hunker down with movies, some snacks, and if you have a companion enjoy their company. It’s a long cold winter…might as well keep warm anyway you can 😉

Those are my Random Musings and Wanderlust for tonight. 🙂

8 thoughts on “It wasn’t the end of the world, but it came close!

  1. Pingback: If we were having coffee…make it a double! | Random Musings And Wanderlust

  2. Love the Camus quote. Wonderful clouds and birds- the after storms always look good. We dodged the bullet here in NJ with the snow- you guys really got whopped. Hope the coming storm passes you by this time!

    Like

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

