If We Were Having Coffee…


If we were having coffee...

If we were having coffee…

If we were having coffee, I’d say thanks for letting me join you.

It’s nice to meet new friends, share a cup of coffee/tea whatever your hearts desire, but I’ll probably take a little time to warm up to the chit-chat. I’d observe quietly from my chair for a while, taking in the view, and flowing conversations, before joining in. But when I finally chime in, I’ve been told, it will be as if we’ve known each other forever.

I’d ask you how your week was?

How are things at home?

We’d go back and forth filling each other in, catching up on lost time.

I’d ask for a refill.

You might too.

We have much to talk about.

I’ll tell you how over the last week or so, I’ve met numerous people out in the blogging world. They are welcoming, and supportive, and much less frightening than what I had thought. “Frightening”? You’d cut me off mid sentence. “Why would you expect frightening? Is it the fear of criticism, or harsh dislikes of what you post? Don’t be a writer if you can’t take criticism!”

“Oh no, nothing of the sort.”  I’d proclaim.  “More of the frightening aspect of them liking my posts. Sharing them, commenting, engaging me in something that came from within me. Something I created. I can deal with the criticism, I gladly welcome the constructive kind. It’s the….fact that they are all so welcoming, and embracing of the new kid on the block.”

Often you hear stories, and oh what the hell do those storytellers know, that within the creative world people tend not to encourage you. Absolutely not the case, well so far in my experience. I’ve found a comradery within the blogging world, I’ve found other writers to follow, and engage with. I’m using twitter more, and have found within there a community as well, encouraging sharing and supporting each other.

One tiny interaction, led to many more. I actually commented on Austins post. I surprised myself, but it was a post that really resonated with me. That led me on a path to finding other creative spirits along the way. It’s been fun, eye-opening and did I say, fun 😉

I keep telling myself why did I wait so long. Well the answer was simple. I didn’t think the “community” was exactly that.

A COMMUNITY.

You would tell me how the week was for you, and ask me more about my writing, and how it’s coming along. I would tell you I’ve posted a little more lately and tell you of the short story I’ve started. It’s kind of surprise for me in a way, not something I normally write, but it’s one that’s been in my head for a few weeks now.

I would tell you all about the movie, Wild and how watching it inspired me and my journey to finding myself ~ Foxy Red. We’d sip silently for a moment, thinking about that thought. Then I would feel I have monopolized the entire conversation about the wonderful people I’ve met along this path and my writing.

You’d tell me it was nonsense, that our time over coffee was just as it should be. We talked, we drank, we enjoyed each others company, and you’d remind me to join you next weekend. Bring my comfy clothes, stay awhile and catch up.

We have a lot to talk about…

I saw this prompt on twitter for #weekendcoffeeshare and I figured since I threw my hat in last weekend with #SundayBlogShare this may be the next step for me to join in the Community!

Thanks for taking the time to join me in a cup of coffee. Till next weekend…

Those are my Random Musings and Wanderlust for today 🙂

12 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

  1. Love the mug!

    And glad you’re having a good blogging experience. It’s a lot of fun once you start to see community form and converse with others. 🙂

    I run a linky on my blog with #weekendcoffeeshare that is open for 48 hours each weekend. Hope you’ll join in next week!

    Like

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

