I’m an eternal optimist? Maybe. Kinda. Sorta. You be the judge…


I’ve often been told I tend to look at the glass half full, even when there is a hole at the bottom and water is spewing out of it uncontrollably. Call it what you will, I do try to put a positive spin on most, if not all situations. Even the most difficult, mind boggling, fear inducing moments that have happened. Why? Because it gets me through it. If I dwell on the crap, that’s all that will end up happening. Dwelling on crap. Who wants to do that? Exert that energy, yes there is energy spent while dwelling on something that’s happened that you can’t change. So why waste that energy dwelling?

Don’t get me wrong, I am not the constant happy go lucky, all is PERFECT in the world type of person. There are a great many things wrong in this world, it’s easy to see. I have my moments, more than I care to admit, but I keep them to myself. I don’t express the woe is me mentality. I give in to it for a bit, but keep it to myself.  Sure I’d like to take a day or two to just hibernate in the dark, shut off all technology, and disengage from the rest of the world. But what’s that going to get me? Dwelling on that crap and wasting hours where I could have been productive. By productive, that could just mean taking the garbage out, washing a sink full of dishes, or catching up on a phone call with a dear friend who I don’t often get to see. It doesn’t have to be earth shattering.

If you know anything about me personally it’s that I am a firm believer, and constantly profess the mantra ….

Everything happens for a reason, you may not see it at this very moment but when the time is right you will understand.

I also understand that in some of the most severe circumstances this can be extremely hard to grasp. I’ve been there in my own life and well it sucks when after years that moment of realization still hasn’t surfaced. But I’ll be damned if I resort to the fact that there isn’t a damn good reason that it happened. There just HAS to be.

I still believe, maybe not in fairytales, although kissing a few frogs along this ride of life certainly lends one to have a slight belief. I’m often drawn to the teachings of Rumi, and one of my favorite quotes is the following.

You have to keep breaking your heart until it opens.

Rumi~

It’s a constant reminder that breaking your heart, and not only in instances of love, teaches it how to heal. It learns what it desires, needs, and wants to be ultimately happy, content and fulfilled. The more often the heart breaks, the more it grows to it’s full potential. All of the events in our lives are a learning experience. In the end we learn what we will and will not tolerate from ourselves, for ourselves and from others.

So am I an eternal optimist? Maybe. Kinda. Sorta. You be the judge. But at the end of the day, I’ll continue to put myself, and undoubtedly my heart, out there to be broken yet again. I know it will open!

Those are my Random Musings and Wanderlust for today 🙂

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

