A tree taught me how to live today.


It’s the beginning of December, and the snow will soon be upon us, blanketing us in its weight and cold. So today I took advantage of one of the few remaining cool, crisp, autumn days. I haven’t been out walking the local trails in a few weeks and took a spur of the moment drive after getting my afternoon coffee pick me up. I’ve been feeling less of myself lately, maybe that cyclical change of the seasons, or life in its tumultuous state in general has just been getting to me. Whatever it may be I needed the escape.

I wasn’t dressed in my normal workout gear but had my comfy sneakers on so I was set, and what did my wondering eyes see, but piles and piles of fresh fallen leaves 🍃🍂🍃🍂.

IMG_2349.JPG

Yes as adults we probably all get annoyed when leaf raking season hits, but just think, even if for a moment back to a time when you were young and would just jump into a pile of leaves or kick them around with your feet. Remember that feeling. Ahh through the eyes of a child, finding the simple pleasures in one of life’s greatest, if not usually overlooked or observed more darkly events. At least that’s how I felt, but within that moment of my feet first hitting the leaf covered trail hearing the sound of them crunching…I woke up and was observing this trail, the trees, the river, and all of it’s normally lush full beauty with fresh new eyes. As if for the first time. Yet I’ve walked here nearly every day for the last 8 months.

I had long looked at nature during this state as dry, withered, dying, as an ending. Not today. Today I saw beauty and life within those barren trees and bushes. I saw things I didn’t know existed now that the thicket had been shed away. It was a sign to me of rebirth, renewing, awakening. Why had it taken me so long to see this? I am a firm believer of everything happening for a reason and at the right time. This was the right time. For me anyway.

We go through life kind of like peeling away the layers of an onion to uncover what’s hidden within us. When we lose a part of our lives we thought was important or vital to us we retreat and dwell on it. Instead today, somewhere within that barren forest of dead leaves…I saw life. It was serene, peaceful, and full of promise for what’s to come next. It will take a beating under the harsh realities of winter as we do in life. Yet it will emerge in the spring battered, a little warn, and maybe broken…but still full of promise for what lies ahead.

Today my time walking aimlessly observing the trees, I saw within myself that spark I somehow lost over the last few months. A tree taught me how to live in a way. A tree taught me how change, even when not always happy, was good. I knew these things before of course, but today it was like shaking the leaves off the trees was an awakening for me.

IMG_2459.JPG

Those are my Random Musings and Wanderlust for today 🙂

4 thoughts on “A tree taught me how to live today.

  1. Spending time in nature, and in solitude does wonders! At least that’s what I feel. It was just so refreshing to have a different perspective for what I once saw and an ending, instead it was a rebirth or renewal of what’s to come. Not only for the trees…but also for me 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Back on the trails, the aftermath of the Southern Pine Beetle. | Random Musings And Wanderlust

  3. Pingback: A to Z Challenge N is for: Nature | Random Musings And Wanderlust

Join in the Random Musings and Wanderlust ;-)

